MOONLIGHT - Reviews

Bebop Spoken Here: CD Review

Gary Brumburgh - Moonlight Review

(Review by Ann Alex)

June 16, 2018

Gary Brumburgh is a trained actor and it shows in his authentic interpretation of these songs. I’d like to suggest that all jazz singers should study some acting. Brumburgh comes from Buffalo, New York. He has acted in theatre, films and television, but in 2003 he decided to focus on music, and he performed in jazz clubs around Los Angeles. This was interrupted by serious illness from 2012, but he was able to return to singing in 2016. He had issued a CD in 2008, and Moonlight is his second CD.

 

The disc is made up of jazz standards and reinterpretations of pop songs from the 1960s and 70s. The musicians are of stellar quality, including Larry Koonse, who has played on the last 3 CDs that I’ve reviewed, so I’m starting to feel that I know this man personally. That’s what I thought when I heard track 10, Haven’t We Met, a duet with Gail Pettis, sung to a typical trio of piano, bass, drums. Other standards are Sweet Georgia Brown (fast, lively, lots of playing with the words, and a musical reference to Fascinating Rhythm); Eggplant (saucy, fun song with some lively flute); and a moving rendition of What’ll I Do, and also I’ll Close My Eyes; Moonlight; My World Is Empty Without You.

 

Then we have the Beatles Day Tripper with a bass playing over strong piano chords; Wichita Lineman (done as a ballad with a flowing rich piano and clanky bass); Sting’s Heavy Cloud No Rain  (a song of foreboding, a rather jazz-rock version); and Just A Little Lovin’ (Early In The Mornin’) which includes extra lyrics from our singer.

 

Definitely a CD worth hearing. It was issued on June 1, 2018, on Cafe Pacific Records. See www.garybrumburgh.com

Gary Brumburgh (vocals); Terry Trotter (piano on 4, 5, 11); Jamieson Trotter (piano on other tracks, arrangements); Bob Sheppard (sax, flute); Pat Kelley (guitar on 1, 4, 5, 6); Larry Koonse (guitar on 2, 9); Gabe Davis (bass); Christian Euman (drums on 1, 3, 4, 5, 7, 11); Conor Malloy (drums on 2, 6, 8, 9, 10)

The JW Vibe: Music That Sticks to My Soul
Gary Brumburgh - Moonlight Review

(Review by Jonathan Widran)

June 3, 2018

Remember the standard song “What a Little Moonlight Can Do”? I pondered that title as a whimsical question while listening to Gary Brumburgh’s imaginatively arranged, swinging, graceful and frequently bluesy album Moonlight. The answer that came to me? “Plenty.”

 

The back story of this recording is fascinating in itself. Between the release of his 2007 debut Up Jumped Spring and now, the veteran singer and stage and screen actor battled and miraculously survived two bouts of neck and tonsil cancer – which makes the light of the moon a guiding metaphor forward. Veteran L.A. jazz producer Barbara Brighton saw him guesting at a show at Vitello’s in Studio City and approached him with the idea of doing an album. Agreeing to sessions is one thing, crafting an exquisite independent jazz gem is quite another. Brumburgh’s inspirational tale of survival would only go so far if he wasn’t a master interpreter able to adapt his phrasing to the emotional needs and tempo of the song. He’s all speediness and lightheartedness on the brisk medley “Dig/Sweet Georgia Brown,” yet effortlessly plumbs deeper emotional terrain with thoughtful restraint on slowed down versions of 60’s classics “Wichita Lineman” and “My World Is Empty Without You.”

 

Moonlight works on many levels. First, there’s the clever choice of material, including an always welcome classic from Dusty Springfield (“Just a Little Lovin’ (Early in the Moring),” a rootsy, steel guitar driven take on an obscure Sting tune (“Heavy Cloud No Rain”) and a trippy swing through “Day Tripper.” It says a lot about Brumburgh as a vocalist and the power of pianist Jamieson Trotter’s arrangements that the singer’s take on the title track (the John Williams-Marilyn and Alan Bergman composed theme to the 1995 remake of “Sabrina”) is far more engaging than Sting’s staid original.

 

Because he’s working with one of the hippest and experienced jazz producers in L.A., Brumburgh has the benefit of the great musicianship of both Jamieson and his dad Terry Trotter (this is the first time they have played together on a single project), Bob Sheppard (sax and flute), guitarists Pat Kelley and Larry Koonse, bassist Gabe Davis (who opens “Day Tripper” with a plucky solo before tapping into the familiar motif) and drummers Christian Euman and Conor Molloy. Listen closely to Brumburgh and Moonlight and you’ll feel there’s a lot it can do, too!  

Michael Doherty's Music Log: Sharing My Love of Music
Gary Brumburgh - Moonlight Review

(Review by Michael Doherty)

June 18, 2018

Jazz vocalist Gary Brumburgh released his first album, Up Jumped Spring, more than a decade ago, and has now followed it up with Moonlight. Why did so much time pass between releases? Gary spent a good deal of that time battling cancer, which was in his neck and tonsils. Fortunately, it did not affect his vocal cords, and the cancer went into remission in 2016. Now he’s back, and there is plenty of joy in his voice. Interestingly, in the liner notes he quotes the first line of Twelfth Night: “If music be the food of love, play on.” It’s interesting because Orsino, who speaks that line, is suffering from a sort of faux melancholy brought on by his love not being answered by Olivia. Anyway, on Moonlight, Gary Brumburgh delivers his personal spins on some familiar songs, including material by The Beatles, The Supremes and Irving Berlin. He is joined by Jamieson Trotter on piano, Gabe Davis on bass, Christian Euman on drums, Conor Malloy on drums, Pat Kelley on guitar, Larry Koonse on guitar, and Bob Sheppard on saxophone.

 

I love the way this album begins, with just the bass providing a cool introduction. Then, after a few moments, the familiar sounds of “Day Tripper” emerge, and soon the rest of the band joins in for a cool rendition of the Beatles tune, with a bit of swing to the rhythm, and some really nice work on saxophone. Gary Brumburgh is clearly enjoying himself, and his vocal work has a fun, excited feel, with even a bit of scat.  Just before the end, the song returns to the vocals backed by bass, and then the track ends gently, with a final note on piano. That ending works well, as the following song, “I’ll Close My Eyes,” begins quietly on piano. I like when an album has a flow like that, when the entire album is in mind as a band records individual tracks. It’s not long before this song picks up a bit, with Larry Koonse’s work on guitar. I really like Gary’s delivery, particularly on these lines: “I’ll lock my heart/To any other caress/I’ll never say yes/To a new love affair/Don’t you know, don’t you know that I’ll close my eyes/To everything that’s gay/If you’re not there/To share each lovely day.” And this track features some good work on piano.

 

“Dig/Sweet Georgia Brown” immediately announces itself as a fun track with that great drumming, and then those backing vocals shouting “Dig Georgia Brown.” The track is a combination of Miles Davis’ “Dig” and “Sweet Georgia Brown,” two compositions having a lot in common. As you might expect, this one cooks, and it features more fantastic work on piano. “Moonlight,” the CD’s title track, was written by John Williams, with lyrics by Alan and Marilyn Bergman, and was recorded by Sting for the 1995 remake of Sabrina. The song was nominated for several awards, but I never cared all that much for it. Still, there are things I like about this rendition, particularly Bob Sheppard’s work on sax. Interestingly, Gary follows that with another Sting song, this one written by Sting, “Heavy Cloud No Rain” from Ten Summoner’s Tales. It’s a really good version, in part because Paulette McWilliams provides backing vocals on this track.

 

Gary Brumburgh’s rendition of “My World Is Empty Without You” is quite a bit different from that by The Supremes (and the other versions I’ve heard). It begins with serious and sad tones, Gary at first accompanied only by Jamieson Trotter on piano and some light touches on percussion by Conor Malloy. From there, it does pick up, and it features some really nice work by Gabe Davis on bass. One of my favorite tracks is Kenny Rankin’s “Haven’t We Met.” This excellent rendition is delivered as a duet with Gail Pettis. I mentioned earlier that Gary Brumburgh quoted Shakespeare in the liner notes. Well, this song has a direct reference to Romeo And Juliet: “And I know that’s just how it happened/When Romeo met Juliet/Somewhere I read that Juliet said/‘Pardon me, haven’t we met?’” In Kenny Rankin’s original version it is Romeo that says “Pardon me, haven’t we met?” Perhaps in this version it is switched to Juliet because Gail Pettis sings that line. Because then at the end the lines are repeated, except this time it is Romeo delivering the line, and Gary sings it. This track features some damn good drumming toward the end. The album then concludes with a mellow tune, a passionate rendition of Irving Berlin’s “What’ll I Do.”

Derek Ansell - Jazz Views

Gary Brumburgh - Moonlight Review

(Review by Derek Ansell)

June, 2018

 

Gary Brumburgh (v); Jamieson Trotter, Terry Trotter (p); Gabe Davis (b); Christian Euman, Conor Molloy (d); Bob Sheppard (ts,f);Larry Koonse, Pat Kelley (elg); Gail Pettis, Paulette McWilliams (v)
Los Angeles 2018


This is Brumburgh’s second CD and he is in upbeat mood throughout the programme having just recently recovered completely from two bouts of neck and tonsil cancers. He begins with a flying version of Lennon and McCartney’s Day Tripper which features a bright vocal and a sturdy, blueish tenor sax solo from Sheppard. The vocalist sings in straight mode, scats and has his own form of hip delivery scattered throughout the CD. His next selection is I’ll Close My Eyes which gets a straight ahead ballad reading and continues with a set that includes standards, old and new jazz staples, a country pop song (Wichita Lineman) and a song by Sting. His reading of Sweet Georgia Brown includes a Miles Davis Dig quote and then develops into a hard swinging, scatting performance in classic Anita O’Day at Newport mode. His voice is a light tenor and he sometimes strays into alto range but his sound and swinging style is consistent through all these selections.

On Sting’s Heavy Cloud, No Rain he is helped along by Paulette McWilliams’ backing vocals. There is a duet with Gail Pettis that works well and this very mixed and varied collection of songs ends with the Berlin standard What’ll I Do, sung heartily in basic, crooner mode. Gary has a very warm voice that rides easily on the beat and the band supports well, particularly the father and son pianist Trotters and Bob Sheppard whose tenor and flute swing crisply on most tracks. The two guitar players also get plenty of solo space and accompany well in the section.

​Overall this jazz vocal session is a winner and recommended.

 

Dick Metcalf: Contemporary Fusion

Gary Brumburgh - Moonlight Review

(Review by Dick Metcalf)

June 30, 2018

 

Genuine groove jazz vocals Gary Brumburgh – MOONLIGHT:  I wouldn’t be surprised if Buffalo native Gary grooved on some of the same cats I did when I was growing up… we’re “sort of” from the same neck of the woods, as I grew up in Erie, Pennsylvania… as you listen to Gary’s suave vocal on the title track, “Moonlight“, you’ll know that he joined the hip in a much bigger way than I did, though… undoubtedly some of the coolest jazz vocal work I’ve heard (yet) in 2018!  Since visuals say so much more than words, be sure you scope out his live performance skills as well…he has many more videos from this album on his YouTube channel, so be sure and SUBSCRIBE while you’re there

Gary has overcome some significant physical problems as well (neck and tonsil cancer), and he’s back since it’s remission in high style, especially on bluesy riffs like you’ll hear on “Eggplant”… he can really tell the story, and you’ll find yourself listening (as did I) over & over again to this one… EXCELLENT flute solo work, too.

When a singer can take an old standard pop song & turn it into the hippest of the hip jazz, as Gary does on the opener, the 4:32 “Day Tripper“, he’s an “instant hit” in my humble jazz abode; this is definitely my personal favorite of the eleven tunes offered up for your aural jazz enjoyment. 

 

Gary and his high-talent players get a MOST HIGHLY RECOMMENDED from me, with an “EQ” (energy quotient) rating of 4.99 for this excellent jazz vocal album.  Get more information on Gary’s website.           

Travis Rogers Jr.: The Jazz Owl

Gary Brumburgh - Moonlight Review

(Review by Travis Rogers, Jr.)

June 2018

 

Moonlight is vocalist Gary Brumburgh’s second album and he brought the heat in the person of some of LA’s hottest artists. After his first outing, 2007’s Up Jumped Spring, Gary was diagnosed with neck and tonsil cancer which was treated with the horrendous treatments that we all know and despise.  And yet, Gary put cancer to flight in 2016 and has come back with a determination and an attitude that makes you just love the guy. He’s smart, he’s funny, he’s talented, and he knows how to put a dynamite album and a great team together, as this Café Pacific Records album proves mightily.

 

He’s got the father and son pianists Terry and Jamieson Trotter handling three and eight tunes, respectively. Jamieson arranged all 11 songs on the CD. Producer extraordinaire Barbara Brighton brought along Bob Sheppard on Tenor Saxophone and Flute, Pat Kelley and Larry Koonse on Guitar, Gabe Davis on Bass, and Christian Euman and Conor Malloy on Drums. This crew has got the goods.  Gabe Davis’ bass is the first thing you hear on Moonlight. He introduces the great John Lennon Beatles tune, Day Tripper. The first thing you learn is to forget what you know about each piece because Gary is going to sing the tune his way, the way he feels it. And it works. The artists with him are going to do the same.  The bass and Jamieson Trotter’s piano set a cool pace for Day Tripper. Christian Euman adds a great drum bit and Bob Sheppard’s tenor sax make you think that Lennon had written this as a Jazz piece. 

 

Billy Reid and Buddy Kaye’s I’ll Close My Eyes is Larry Koonse’s first appearance on guitar. I enjoy the soft swing of Jamieson Trotter, Gabe Davis, and Conor Malloy behind Brumburgh’s cool intonations. Jamieson has a cool and quirky piano lead in the middle that is well worth a listen. Koonse nails his solo, as always.  Miles Davis’ Dig gets paired with Sweet Georgia Brown and Christian Euman’s drumming is spot-on. Jamieson Trotter on piano and Bob Sheppard on sax put on a sweet display as Gabe Davis pushes them on bass. This is a fun romp.  Wichita Lineman by Jimmy Webb is another fine surprise. I loved Davis’ strumming on the bass to open the song that gives the great illusion of wind though the wires. What a cool treatment of a classic number. Gary delivers the lines with sincerity and conviction.  The title track (Williams/Bergman/Bergman) is a great piece for the quintet of Terry Trotter, Davis, Euman, Sheppard, and Pat Kelley (guitar). Moonlight is beautifully delivered by Brumburgh. This is Terry Trotter’s first appearance on the album—in fact, this is the first album that he and Jamieson appear on together.

Perhaps it is his training in drama, but Gary is completely believable in the way he delivers the songs he has chosen. And he has chosen well. From the cool Moonlight, he slides into Sting’s Heavy Cloud No Rain with his sardonic treatment and Pat Kelley’s bluesy guitar and then into Michael Franks’ wittily mundane subjects in Eggplant.  Not done with reimagining pop stars’ classics, Brumburgh’s takes on the Supremes’ My World is Empty Without You. The trio of Jamieson Trotter, Davis and Malloy are brilliant in their haunting rendering of the Motown hit. Again, Gary’s delivery can only be called authentic and believable. Jamieson’s piano and Gary’s vocals create a vivid depiction of hollowness. Stunning.  Just a Little Lovin’ was the huge hit by Dusty Springfield. Larry Koonse gets his hands on this one and offers up a beauty of an acoustic guitar solo. Amazingly, Gary and the guys make it sound contemporary but somehow also manage to keep that 1968 feel.  Kenny Rankin’s Haven’t We Met has Gary in duet with Gail Pettis, backed by the trio of Jamieson, Davis and Malloy. Davis’ bass solo is a beauty that gives way to Jamieson and Malloy in a tight duet. Gary and Gail are stellar together.  The album concludes with the Irving Berlin standard What’ll I Do. Terry Trotter’s piano into is sweet and sad, as the song itself is. Gary offers a lush version of the song done so often and so well by so many. Still, Gary makes the song worth hearing all over (and over) again. And again, so authentic.

 

Brumburgh’s voice is warm and emotion-filled, completely immersed in the feel of the song and, as stated over and over, so very believable.  Thank the heavens for Gary Brumburgh’s healing and recovery. We will get to hear more of him.
 

Los Angeles Music Critics: Mid-Winter Blues

Gary Brumburgh - Moonlight Review

July 10, 2018

Artist Name:  Gary Brumburgh

Album Name:  Moonlight

Label:  Cafe Pacific Records

Genre:  Jazz

 

Track Listing:  1.  Day Tripper; 2.  I’ll Close my Eyes; 3.  Dig/Sweet Georgia Brown; 4.  Wichita Lineman; 5.  Moonlight; 6.  Heavy Cloud no Rain; 7.  Eggplant; 8.  My World is Empty Without You; 9.  Just a Little Lovin’ (Early in the Mornin’); 10.  Haven’t we Met

 

Publicist:  Mouthpiece Music

Review:  Gary Brumburgh is a gifted jazz vocalist who turns popular tunes of different genres into spectacular jazz standards.  He starts off with the Beatles’ “Day Tripper,” and goes up from there.  We love his take on the Harlem Globetrotters’ theme “Sweet Georgia Brown,” incorporating the lyrics which many of us have never heard.  He also does a very special jazz treatment for the Glen Campbell classic tune, “Wichita Lineman,” as well as the Supremes’ mega hit, “My World is Empty Without You.”  Other songs worth considering include Dusty Springfield’s “Just a Little Lovin’ (Early in the Mornin’)” and Frank Sinatra’s seminal “What’ll I Do.”

Get It or Forget It?

Recommendation:  Get it!

Midwest Record Entertainment - CD Reviews

Gary Brumburgh - Moonlight Review

Reviewed by Chris Spector

July 10, 2018

 

CAFÉ PACIFIC


GARY BRUMBURGH/Moonlight: In which we find enjoyment of the deconstruction of everything where a Great American Songbook record doesn't mean what it meant a generation ago and songs from the 70s can be put through a cabaret/jazz spin and come out the other end completely different. A singer bouncing back from throat cancer seemingly without missing a step rounds up a bunch of top LA jazzbos and musos to find the key to put Jimmy Webb side by side with Miles, Sting and more. A dandy performance piece loaded with jazz under pinnings, this is a marvelous, sophisticated piece of adult listening that works well throughout.

JAZZ WORD PRESS: Musical Memoirs

Gary Brumburgh - Moonlight Review

Reviewed by Dusty Groove

August 29, 2018

 

GARY BRUMBURGH – “MOONLIGHT” Café Pacific Records

Gary Brumburgh, vocals; Jamaison Trotter, piano; Gabe Davis, bass; Christian Euman & Conor Malloy, drums; Pat Kelley & Larry Koonse, guitar; Bob Sheppard, tenor saxophone; Paulette McWilliams & Gail Pettis, vocals.

Gabe Davis, on bass, walks his instrument with power and determination as an introduction to the first song. Jamieson Trotter adds piano after several bars of bass. Then in steps the star of the show, Gary Brumburgh singing the Lennon/McCartney hit record, “Day Tripper” in a very jazzy way. Bob Sheppard always brings the magic to the bandstand and this recording session is no exception. His saxophone solos are inspiring and complement Brumburgh’s vocals. Brumburgh introduces us to some song verses we may not be familiar with, for example on “I’ll Close My Eyes.” I enjoyed hearing the verse of that song interpreted. However, I found some of the smart and creative arrangements on these tunes to work better with the instrumentalists than with the vocalist. Pointedly, on this tune, some of the guitar chord changes at the top of this song, that become a repetitive theme throughout, are challenging but don’t necessarily support the vocalist. After all, it is his project and the point is to be ‘hip’ but also to give him a substantial stage of musical support that spotlights his vocal talents.

That being said, the musicians on this project are some of the best in the business and they offer him a strong trampoline of tracks to bounce upon. For me, the stumbling block are a few of the unique arrangements that don’t always fit the vocalists’ tone and timbre.  Brumburgh has a smooth, distinctive vocal style. His repertoire is well-rounded, including oldies like Sweet Georgia Brown (mixed with the Miles Davis composition “Dig”), Jimmy Webb’s “Witchita Lineman,” Sting’s “Heavy Cloud No Rain,” Michael Franks’ “Eggplant” and the title tune, “Moonlight” a John Williams composition with lyrics by Alan and Marilyn Bergman. The songs he picks are wonderful. He also includes a couple of awesome female vocalists. For one, Paulette McWilliams, who adds harmonic background to the arrangement on “Heavy Cloud No Rain” produced quite bluesy, allowing Paulette McWilliams to pump the soul into this song. At times, Brumburgh bursts into scat and has a tone that easily becomes a vocal horn. I thought the Brazilian feel on “Just A Little Lovin’ (Early in the Morning)” well-suited Brumburgh’s vocal style. I must credit Brumburgh and Jamison Trotter for successfully arranging so many pop tunes with strong jazz creativity. I bet Holland, Dozier and Holland were surprised to hear the way the Diana Ross hit record, “My World Is Empty Without You, (Babe)” was re-arranged. I know I was. The final song, with the very sensitive piano accompaniment of Terry Trotter, “What’ll I Do” touched me deeply. It was just voice and trio; simple and honest, obviously sung with passion and sincerity.

 

This is Gary Brumburgh at his best.

C. Michael Bailey: All About Jazz

Gary Brumburgh - Moonlight Review

Reviewed by C. Michael Bailey

July 18, 2018

Gary Brumburgh

Moonlight
Café Pacific Records


Gary Brumburgh has been in showbusiness most of his life, narrowing his focus to singing in 2003 and releasing his fist recording, Up Jumped Spring in 2008. In 2012, the singer began an intense four-year battle with head and neck cancer that resulted in a remission at the expense of some residual neck damage but intact vocal chords. Producer Barbara Brighton caught a Brumburgh performance at Vitello's in Studio City, subsequently offering the singer to help with a recording. This brought Brumburgh into contact with father and son pianist pair Terry and Jamieson Trotter (the two appearing together on the same project here), guitarist Larry Koonse and LA everyman saxophonist Bob Sheppard. Deep in the background is that West Coast magician, Mark Winkler, never far from this group.

 

Brumburgh is cast as an actor performing dialog as song. This is true, but on the other side of this thought is the singer's superb song choice for his sophomore effort Moonlight. He is masterful on the fast of the past, "Dig/Sweet Georgia Brown" and the slow and low, a stunning performance of "Wichita Lineman." His recital is filled with 1960s-80s popular music on its way to becoming the new standards. Relaxed and hip, Gary Brumburgh adds a certain class to his music and the environment in which he makes it.

JAZZ WEEKLY: The Male Voice

Gary Brumburgh - Moonlight Review

Reviewed by George W. Harris

January 8, 2019

THE MALE VOICE…Gary Brumburgh: Moonlight, Andrew Weller & The Nelson Riddle Orchestra: Sinatra All the Way
by George W. Harris • January 4, 2018 • 0 Comments


Relaxed toned vocalist Gary Brumburgh brings out the hip in us on this suavely swinging collection of tunes with all stars Jamieson Trotter-Terry Trotter/p, Gabe Davis/b, Conor Malloy-Chrisitan Euman/dr, Pat Kelley-Larry Koonse/g and Bob Sheppard/sax. His mood and delivery bring thoughts of Kenny Rankin and Michael Franks, so it makes sense he would take on the latter’s pleasant “Eggplant” and the former on a snappy “Haven’t We Met.”  He makes it hip to be hep on a swinging take of The Beatles’ “Day Tripper” and gets soulful with Sheppard’s tenor on “Moonlight” and the nimble “Dig/Sweet Georgia Brown.” He glows like a full moon on “What’ll I Do” and the glorious “Wichita Lineman,” showing depth of interpretation of a lonely lyric. Any LA gigs coming?


Andrew Weller gives a tribute to vintage years of Frank Sinatra by using Blue Eyes’ favorite partner, the Nelson Riddle Orchestra as the backdrop for classic material. Weller has a comfy sound and a cozy vibrato to his delivery, and the brassy charts on “All the Way” and “World on a String” are delightful. The sections deliver wanderlust for “Old Devil Moon” and come on bright and bold for “Come Dance With Me.” Upbeat with a smile.
 

JERSEY JAZZ

Gary Brumburgh - Moonlight Review

Reviewed by Joe Lang

December, 2018

Following a frightening and difficult bout with neck and tonsil cancr, vocalist GARY BRUMBRUGH came through with his vocal chords and throat unaffected.  Listen to Moonlight (Cafe Pacific Records), his eclectic 11-track album, and you would not hear any signs of his illness. 

 

With a floating cast of musicians, he addresses songs as diverse as Lennon and McCartney's "Day Tripper," and Irving Berlin's "What'll I do."  He handles both equally well, as he does the other selections on the disc.  There is also a wide difference between the standard "I'll Close My Eyes," done with the rarely heard verse and the whimsical Michael Franks tune "Eggplant," but he delivers both with appropriate readings.  Using the Miles Davis tune "Dig" as the instrumental underpinning for a hip take on "Sweet George Brown" is the inspired idea of pianist/arranger Jamieson Trotter who is responsible for most of the charts for the album, as well as laying piano on eight of the tracks.  His father, Terry trotter, handles the keys on the other three selections, "Wichita LIneman," "Moonlight" and "What'll I do." 

 

On Moonlight, Brumburgh delviers a collection that covers a lot of ground, and does so with a smooth and appealing baritone.


© 2018 by GARY BRUMBURGH                                                                                                    Web Site by Alan Wexler